Carol with her son David, with Mitt and Ann Romney

Carol Holden is the Vice Chairman of the Hillsborough County Board of Commissioners and has been representing District 3 as County Commissioner since 1997.



The administration of Hillsborough County Government is vested in the three member Board of Commissioners, elected every two years from the three county districts:

Toni Pappas
District #1 - Bedford and Manchester.

Michael R. Clemons
District #2 - Hollis, Hudson, Nashua, and Pelham.

Carol H. Holden
District #3 - Amherst, Antrim, Bennington, Brookline, Deering, Francestown, Goffstown, Greenfield, Greenville, Hancock, Hillsborough, Litchfield, Lyndeborough, Mason, Merrimack, Milford, Mont Vernon, New Boston, New Ipswich, Peterborough, Sharon, Temple, Weare, Wilton and Windsor.

The Board of Commissioners duties are mandated by NH Statute RSA 28 and includes the custody and care of all property and real estate belonging to the County.

They are responsible for the governing, administration and overall supervision of the department of corrections, nursing home, public assistance, human resources and departments not under the statutory control of other elected officials.  The Commissioners also have budget review over all county departments.

Download Carol's Presentation on the role of a Commissioner

Hillsborough County
Board of Commissioners
Suite 120
329 Mast Road
Goffstown, NH 03045
Phone: (603) 627-5602
Fax: (603) 627-5603

Hillsborough County Map